Ted Talks & Bechdel Tests

My friends all probably hate me because I hate watching YouTube videos. I don’t want to laugh at boy jokes put into motion or hear your shit music. Buuuuuut if you show me some Ted Talks, my heart will get a little melty.

I discovered this Ted Talk, in which Colin Stokes asks men to put aside the traditional man box and replace it with something far more “manly”. Paying attention to the movies you show your children, and yourself.

Meet the Bechdel Test. A simple test to identify gender bias in popular culture. To pass the Bechdel test, a movie must:
1. Have at least two [named] women in it
2. Who talk to each other
3. About something besides a man

Easy right? Not so much. Only a very slim percentage of movies, comics, stories, etc pass this. But why? I mean, women do surprisingly talk about legit stuff. Why are the boys so adverse to seeing women in pop culture? Because it isn’t manly to take them seriously?

Mr. Stokes goes on to talk about providing our children with a different narrative. One that includes both women and men as benevolent leaders. It’s beyond time for this. And when I think about the movies and TV shows I chose to watch, they all pass the Bechdel Test. There is both male and female good and evil, leaders and followers. Because that’s the planet I’ve chose to live on. And I think it’s time more men come over to this planet. Then, he drops the disgusting statistic that sexual assault (1 in 5 women) is more common than a movie that passes the Bechdel Test (11%). Why are men assaulting? Ask yourself this again after watching a modern day “man movie”.

I think about all the times I’ve heard a boyfriend complain about seeing his girlfriend, because like, why can’t he just be with his buddies all weekend? This always stuck out as more homosexual than “manly”. The guys who cheat and then complain about their girlfriend and wife to their side chick. Men who play games out of women, like placing bets on who fucks the fattest woman. The tired narrative of men being miserable once he gets married. I can come up with two reasons why adults would behave with such pointless ignorance:
1) They feel threatened that modern women are equals
2) They are closeted gays

Come out of the closet, or welcome your manhood to the modern world. Because the sad news is, that if we keep raising children with the same shitty pop culture literacy, a lot of our sons will be left behind by modern women.

Leave a Reply

